Keep your Greek (08)

11 02 2009

tick18. Get it right the first time.

The more capable you become with Greek when you first learn it, the easier it will be to keep your Greek in the future.

This is really advice for students rather than pastors who want to keep their Greek. Students need to realize that the effort they put in now will have big implications for whether or not they will struggle to keep their Greek in the future. I know some students struggle with the idea of putting so many hours into acquiring Greek (and Hebrew), while they really want to be learning about the Bible and theology. But the reality is that the more on top of Greek you get now, the easier it will be to maintain it later.

The reason for this is simple. Pastors struggle to keep their Greek because they are busy. But the weaker your Greek is to start with, the more time it takes to keep it going. You spend more time looking up vocab and remembering paradigms, not to mention just trying to get the vibe of the thing. It all takes more time than it should. Thus, if your Greek is not strong when you go into ministry, you are far more likely to lose it over time. But if your Greek is pretty strong when you go into ministry, it will take a lot less time to keep it ticking along.

It’s not rocket science: get your Greek strong now; keep your Greek strong in the future.

Posted by Con Campbell

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 02 2009
Michael Kellahan

Con
why does all this wise advice sound like my dentist telling me how important daily flossing is?

11 02 2009
Mark Stevens

Con, my original degree didn’t require Greek (something they have since remedied) and so I took a course once I entered ministry. That was a very tough and tiring ride but I made it. How can I get it strong if it has started to slip? Books? Ideas?

Cheers,

Mark

11 02 2009
Mark Stevens

By the way Con, I sent you an email. Did you receive it?

Cheers

11 02 2009
Con Campbell

Thanks Mark, that sounds tough-going. I’ll get to the matter of making your Greek stronger… it’s coming!

Michael, I suspect it’s because, like the dentist, you know I’m right!

11 02 2009
Con Campbell

Hi Mark, sorry, I haven’t received your email. Try: concampbell@mac.com




