Keep your Greek (06)

1 02 2009

gallardospyderfr6. Read fast.

This advice needs to be tempered by my next post, but it is pretty straightforward: read Greek quickly. At least some of the time. The idea is that it can be frustrating and demoralizing to always read Greek slowly, while paying attention to every detail. Reading slowly is very important (see next post), but so is reading quickly. I benefit from mixing it up.

When we read Greek quickly, it helps us to get ‘the vibe’ of the language. You can get a feel for the shape of clauses and sentence structure, and you might be surprised at how much you can piece together just from reading larger slabs in context. Reading quickly will also help you to ‘internalize’ the language in a way that slow and careful reading may not. It also feels more like ‘reading’ because you’re taking in more content, and therefore piecing together the ideas and wider message of the text, not just going from one word to next, hand-to-mouth-style.

When you try this, just sit down with a Greek New Testament for 10 minutes or so and have a stab at reading. You might want to gear-up with some vocab beforehand, using Sakae-Kubo or something equivalent. But even if you don’t, just skip over words you don’t recognize and go for the vibe. I always enjoy reading Greek this way; try it for yourself!

Posted by Con Campbell

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 02 2009
Mike Aubrey

Ooh, I really like this one. I have my own variation. I listen to the recordings from http://www.greeklatinaudio.com/ and follow along with my GNT.

1 02 2009
Con Campbell

Thanks Mike, that’s a great idea.

3 02 2009
The Gazman

Finally! Recognition that the vibe of the thing is worthy 🙂 Happy Birthday Con.

3 02 2009
Laura

I like this one too… WAY more than the last one! 😉

It’s fun to read Greek as though I’m great at it, instead of slogging through it with the reality of my pitiful two semesters + one summer term of Greek hanging over my head. Fake it ’til you make it, huh?

What a blessing and encouragement this series is! Thanks for putting all this work in. But every time I comment, I feel strangely compelled to hold up my right hand and say, “I promise I will not use the knowledge I have gained here to, like, disciple men or something.”

3 02 2009
Con Campbell

lol Laura.

4 02 2009
Alan Kurschner

Mixing it up helps tremendously! Thanks

5 02 2009
Keep your Greek (07) « Read Better, Preach Better

[…] it’s a good thing to practice reading Greek fast (see my last post), it’s very important to balance that with reading slow. Not because reading slow is […]




